Author: Terence Kapipi Yacop – UPNG RFL

The Open Campus United Rugby League Club ended their campaign in the regular season of the UPNG Rugby League Competition at the top of the ladder to take out the Minor Premiership of the 2022 Season. They will now go into the finals as one of the front runners in the competition to take out the big prize at the conclusion of the finals.

Second Year UPNG Student and OC United Captain Steven Jack attributed their strong performances in 2021 and 2022 seasons to their robust work ethics and sheer commitment of juggling studies and rugby league.

“We put in a lot effort on and off the field and made a lot of sacrifices to be able to play rugby league while studying. It is so pleasing to get the results that we have invested for. We certainly are not best team but it is a satisfying feeling to beat the other strong teams in the competition and take out the Minor Premiership,” said the OC United captain Jack.

The OC United emerged as a power house outfit in the last two season and have performed prominently in the competition. United won the 2021 UPNG RFL 9s title and lost in the 2021 Season Grand Final against the SBPP Eagles.

OC again made it to the Cup Grand final of the 2022 UPNG RFL 9s earlier this year but lost to School of Law (SOL) Brothers. OC United will certainly want to make the most of their good form to win a silverware this finals series.

“As a team we know what it’s like to lose and win in the big matches, especially winning the 2021 UPNG SRC 9s Cup, then the feeling of losing later in the year’s 13’s Grand Final. Our main Goal now is to get that feeling of winning the 13’s Grand Final. The 13’s minor premiership is just a compliment along our way to the main goal,” said the OC United Captain.

Captain Steven also thanked the UPNG RFL President Melvin Paul and his executives for organizing and running the tournament so that they can showcase their skills.

“Most of us never had a chance to display our potential on an arena like this. Our gratitude and thank you to UPNGRFL President Wayne Wama former and current UPNGRFL president Melvin Paul and his executives for their tireless efforts so that we can display our talents and skills on a weekly basis,” said the OC Captain.

The UPNG RFL tournament kicked off with 16 teams from UPNG, International Business College University, Don Bosco Technical College, Pacific Adventist University and International Business College. Only eight teams have made the finals and they will compete for the top prize but for now the OC United are the leaders with the minor premiership trophy safely tucked away.